St. Neots Half Marathon

In the last of this year’s Biggleswade Athletic Club designated Championship races, 13 of our athletes braved the rather windy conditions for the 2023 St. Neots Half Marathon. This follows on from the Doug Anderson 5K, Leighton 10 Mile and Standalone 10k and saw our road running members vie for the Half Marathon Club Championship trophy, awarded based on an age grading of finishing times. First home for Biggleswade AC was Paul Swinburne in a time of 1:35:26, with Tim McGlashan, Rob Morgan and Nicky Upperton only a few seconds behind. Nicky was not only first female to cross the line for BAC, but also took the Female Championship trophy with her age grading of 69%. For the Male Championship, this went to Ian Grimwood (pictured) who put in a fantastic performance to achieve an age grading of 73% as well as coming third place in the Male Veteran 70 category. This adds to Ian’s 5K championship trophy win in June and is off the back of his PB run at the Chester marathon in October. The trophies will be formally presented at the Club’s annual award night in February.

Name Overall Position Age Category Position Chip Time
Paul Swinburne  195 24 1:35:26
Tim McGlashan 199 75 1:35:45
Nicky Upperton 200 15 1:35:41
Rob Morgan 201 62 1:35:45
Giles Hawthorne 241 77 1:38:22
Ian Grimwood 492 3 1:50:38
Ricky Byrne 631 162 1:57:23
Sarah Geeson-Orsgood 638 56 1:57:40
Andy Hedley 732 37 2:03:49
Stuart Goodwin 768 163 2:06:34
Juliet Grimwood 807 20 2:08:49
Samantha Thorogood 954 119 2:27:01
Cat Marriott 982 5 2:40:27

If you are interested in knowing more about Biggleswade Athletic Club and what we offer in terms of our road running section – whatever your age or goals - do check out our Training pages or feel free to contact us by email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or through our Facebook page.